Merry Christmas 2008

Baby Jesus at St. Philip Benizi Parish
Wishing you all a Merry Christmas.  I just got in from Midnight Mass about a half hour ago.  I made a couple pictures of our creche.  This year the arrangement was different.  Baby Jesus was centered in front of the altar while Mary, Joseph, and the shepherds were placed facing the Gospel.  I found it interesting to meditate on the image of Mary and Joseph seemingly “read” the Gospel.  Here is the photo for your own observation.  Blessings to you and your family on this Christmas day — the day we received the greatest gift of all.  My prayer is that you have a church home in which to celebrate the wonderful Gospel of our faith.  If not, I pray that you will be brought back into faithful assembly.
blog-pics-0622
3 thoughts on “Merry Christmas 2008

  1. A Christmas Poem

    Oh, to have been a shepherd or a king
    and to have heard those angels sing
    or to have seen that star so bright
    upon that holy Christmas night.

    But Christmas transcends both time and place
    and we can share in that night’s grace
    when like those humble ones back then
    we heed God’s call and proclaim, “Amen.”

  2. That is a beautiful poem Lee. Thank you.

    Today is also my father’s birthday and mine is Monday. The Feast of St. Nicholas is also my employment anniversary. December is a multitude of celebrations in my life.

  3. Hi,
    Small world! I am also from Fayetteville, GA – born and raised! At 17, I moved to VA and have lived here since. I am also a convert from So. Baptist to the Catholic Church. Although, I didn’t convert until I was in my 30s and living in VA!
    Thank you for your witness.

Leave a Reply

